Aperture integration?

questions about practical use of Neat Image
gsfprez

Aperture integration?

Post by gsfprez »

I'm no programmer, so i don't know if there is any kind of plug-in architecture for Aperture - but i know as a Intel Mac user (had to go mobile, couldn't see spending all that money for a slow laptop) for what i do, I avoid going into Photoshop as much as possible now.

My workflow is really streamlined with Aperture now, and really, all that I am missing now is NeatImage to help me clean up those high ISO photos... since i do a lot of "we need the picture now and we don't have time for you to make it look better in Photoshop" work, really, I don't want to go over to Photoshop - even when its UB. Editing the photos is not a requirement, but getting rid of the noise would be nice.

is there any chance we'll see NetaImage integrate with Aperture, since the noise reduction in Aperture borders on the useless?
NITeam

Post by NITeam »

Thank you for the question and in fact a suggestion, because you are the first person to raise this issue.

Aperture is a relatively young product and it seems to be not supporting third-party components or plug-ins in the current version (I have to check once again since things change quickly). If there is no such support then the only way to interface with Aperture is through temporary files, which is not what you would prefer as I understand. We will check if there is any other way to achieve the same goal with Aperture but of course we should be expecting Aperture to support plug-ins because that is the way to easily re-use a lot of readily available tools.

Thank you once again for the question.

Vlad
gsfprez

Post by gsfprez »

perhaps a small, fast, stand-alone app that could be chosen as a "editing app" in the Aperture prefs that would essentially allow a user to do nothing but perform NetImage processing?