Lightroom Plug-In

suggest a way to improve Neat Image
Post Reply
Zal
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 12:54 am

Lightroom Plug-In

Post by Zal » Thu Mar 01, 2007 12:59 am

Hi all--first, let me say that I'm a (fairly) long time Neat Image user, and have been very happy with the Photoshop plug-in.

I am a new user of Adobe Lightroom, and I can see myself using this application more and more. I would be great if Neat Image could release a plug-in for Lightroom sometime in the near future. I believe Adobe is going to soon release their SDK. Hopefully we'll be able to capitalize on this and get Neat Image functionality from within Lightroom without having to export to Photoshop.

Thanks!

NITeam
Posts: 3114
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2003 4:43 pm
Contact:

Post by NITeam » Thu Mar 01, 2007 10:17 am

Yes, I also think so, it would be great if Adobe released their SDK in the near future so that third-party developers could start work on their plug-ins for Lightroom. We are looking forward to see and use that SDK as soon as it becomes available.

Thank you for your suggestion!

Vlad

fantauzzi
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2003 11:42 pm
Location: Italy

Post by fantauzzi » Sun May 06, 2007 1:00 pm

I logged in the forum to ask for the same 8) I need to incorporate Neat Image in the Adobe Lightroom workflow. I believe that LR already allows to add "custom" modules, and is going to also provide a SDK to develop some sort of plug-ins.

NITeam
Posts: 3114
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2003 4:43 pm
Contact:

Post by NITeam » Sun May 06, 2007 1:20 pm

As soon as it will provide the SDK, we will be able to look into developing such a plug-in for LR. We are looking forward to get that SDK.

Vlad

cdees
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 2:10 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by cdees » Sat Jul 28, 2007 7:43 pm

I'm a long time user myself and I'm using Lightroom now as well.
Already some time ago DxO Optics Pro released a plug-in.
Not as nice as regular plug-ins but it works.

KJA
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2005 10:52 am

Lightroom SDK is out!!!

Post by KJA » Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:21 am

Hey, I just noticed on the Adobe Labs website that the Lightroom 1.3 SDK pre-release is available!!!

Bring on the NeatImage Lightroom plug-in!!!

:D

NITeam
Posts: 3114
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2003 4:43 pm
Contact:

Post by NITeam » Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:25 am

That is an export sdk, not filter sdk... To develop a filter plug-in (NI is a filter) we need a filter sdk, like that in Photoshop.

KJA
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2005 10:52 am

Post by KJA » Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:32 am

Oh, damn! So it is. :(

I guess this little snippet from the website gives us hope that a bigger and better SDK isn't too far off:
"The Lightroom Export SDK preview is the Lightroom product team's first opportunity to engage the developer community. While this preview SDK functionality is limited to the Export dialog, the discussion should be expanded to include any functional area that a developer would like to build upon"

jcarl
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 11:18 am

How to use Neat Image as a pseudo-plugin for Lightroom

Post by jcarl » Thu Mar 13, 2008 11:51 am

How to use Neat Image as a (pseudo) plugin for Lightroom

This isn't ideal, but it works..

Step 1. In Lightroom, select the photo you want to edit and press Apple-E to open it in Photoshop.

Step 2. In Photoshop, use a custom keyboard shortcut to launch Neat Image. (Then do your thing in Neat Image.)

Step 3. Press Apple-W to close the document and hit enter to save. Done.

3 shortcuts. Boom, boom, boom. It's pretty fast when Photoshop is already open.

Having said that, I really wish Neat Image were built into Lightroom. I don't mean as a plugin, but as a fully integrated feature within Lightroom to keep the workflow smooth and speedy. For those of us who edit thousands of pictures a week, that would be amazing!

In the meantime, however, I hope this helps! :)

-john

rogernordin
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2003 10:05 pm
Location: Molkom, Sweden
Contact:

Lightroom plug-in please...

Post by rogernordin » Wed Mar 26, 2008 7:59 pm

Logged in to the forum, just to ask the same as everyone else - please bring us a Lightroom plug-in version of NeatImage!

As far as the "jump to Photoshop and..." well that is just a waste of time if you have more than a handful of photos. Plus, going from a RAW file, you need to change your changes in a new TIFF file, which means all changes done up to that will now be in the history of file A and not in file B which you are now working on. To keep your history you have to keep both (yeah you can stack them, but it's still a nuisance).

In any case, I just like an option to check to enable NeatImage filtration & sharpeing, and hopefully you should be able to copy/paste and synchronize that setting across images within Lightroom. Yeah!

Best Regards,
/Roger

rogernordin
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2003 10:05 pm
Location: Molkom, Sweden
Contact:

So now that we have Lightroom 2...

Post by rogernordin » Sun Aug 03, 2008 10:01 am

Does that spell any good news as for the plug-in interface?

NITeam
Posts: 3114
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2003 4:43 pm
Contact:

Post by NITeam » Sun Aug 03, 2008 10:40 am

Unfortunately no news from Adobe yet, there is no filter SDK yet.

beruberu
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 4:25 pm
Contact:

Post by beruberu » Sat Sep 20, 2008 2:07 pm

NITeam wrote:Unfortunately no news from Adobe yet, there is no filter SDK yet.

Hello,

Any news for LightRoom plugin??

I'm very sorry not to have it, because I'm using a lot LR for my pictures of wildlife......

Have a look at http://www.jeux-nature.net/photosnature/

And sometimes I really need to use NetaImage, but untill now it is not so easy way...

Have a nice day... And Thanks a lot for your great soft
Best Greatings from Switzerland.
Phil
http://www.focusnature.ch
http://astrosurf.com/skylover/

NITeam
Posts: 3114
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2003 4:43 pm
Contact:

Post by NITeam » Sat Sep 20, 2008 2:24 pm

I haven't heard of any news regarding a filter SDK. Without it, you can still use standalone Neat Image as an external editor for LR. We discussed this option in this thread.

Vlad

Post Reply