Questions on CPU/GPU Quality & CPU/GPU/2xGPU Speed

general questions about Neat Video
CraigT

Questions on CPU/GPU Quality & CPU/GPU/2xGPU Speed

Post by CraigT »

I've been using Neat Video for 7+ years now with both Sony Vegas Pro/Magix Vegas Pro and VirtualDub/VirtualDub2, with much satisfaction.

I hope to build a new pc in a few months but am not sure what to focus on, CPU or GPU or both, and had some questions. While I’m fairly sure I’m going with the Threadripper (2nd or 3rd gen), the Ryzen 9 3900X was the clear winner in terms of CPU speed.

Current build:
Intel i7 5930K 3.5GHz 6 core (40 lane mobo chipset), 32GB RAM, EVGA GTX 980 Ti

Intended Use:
Handbrake or some other transcoder
Plex server - nothing requires transcoding so this should not have much overhead
Security Cameras – still tbd, up to 16 8MP cameras, no transcoding, should not require much overhead
VirtualDub2 with Neat Video
Vegas Pro with Neat Video

1. CPU vs GPU Quality:
Has anyone found using the GPU to be of any lesser or different quality than the CPU? I found artifacts (large blocky areas of solid black) on 2-3 frames when using the CPU+GPU as well as GPU only, but never with CPU only. I discovered later on that I was using a very outdated video driver which has since been updated. But since those bad results I have not attempted using the GPU again at all.

2. CPU vs GPU vs 2x GPU Speed:
From multiple benchmarks it appears the AMD Ryzen 9 3900X takes the lead for CPU speed. However this CPU's board's chipset only supports 24 lanes, which I believe would not allow full potential for one or two GPUs plus 3x m.2 SSDs.
It also appears the GeForce RTX 2080 Ti takes the lead for GPU speed, albeit a huge financial hit.
I have found two benchmarks using two GPUs (one had different GPUs while the other had two of the same), but I believe the chipsets did not have enough lanes to fully support both GPUs and significantly limited the results.