Share your settings and process flow

questions about practical use of Neat Video, examples of use
CraigT

Share your settings and process flow

Post by CraigT »

I'd like to share my settings and process flow in the hopes others would share theirs as well, so I could improve my project flow or efficiencies.

I am not a professional, do not do this for income, but have a lot of different formats of video footage, and absolutely hate excessive noise, especially in movies where it was intentional, added post-edit or scanned from dirty film, or early digital in low light, or analog back to the Hi8/VHS-C days (sorry, no analog reel experience), or from compression artifacts found so in most DVDs.

Process flow:
1. VirtualDub2 (64-bit latest version) - convert file to AVI
I convert to YUV first for several reasons:
I have the space and it doesn't take long
Scrubbing is super fast in both directions
All frames are available (I have frames not available when I use source video with Neat Video filter)
Almost zero issues/crashes
YUV instead of RGB - half the filesize and 220fps vs 85fps
Settings:(I saved these settings in VirtualDub2 and Load them each time)
Audio: No audio (audio and everything else will be muxed back in later)
Video: Decode Format: Autoselect usually works, but most of what I use is "4:2:0 planar YCbCr (YV12)"; Color Space: Rec. 709 (HD); Component range: Limited (Y: 16-235)
Video: Compression: FFMPEG Huffyuv lossless codec: Configure: YUV 4:2:0; Bit depth: 8; Prediction method: left; Pixel Format: YUV420-709; 4:2:0 planar YCbCr (YV12); Rec. 709 (HD); Limited (Y: 16-235)
2. VirtualDub2 - open AVI created in step 1
Settings: same as above
Edit using Neat Video 5 video filter
Save video using the same settings as above
2b. Occasionally I'll use AviSynth Compare to check the noise reduction
3. MKVToolNix GUI - mux AVI from step 2 with original video file into mkv container
4. HandBrake - transcode muxed mkv to final video