PC crash

resolve technical issues related to use of Neat Video
Post Reply
eivindr
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2018 5:51 pm

PC crash

Post by eivindr » Sun Feb 11, 2018 6:42 pm

I have neatImage 8.3.5
Geforce GTX 1060 6gb driver 390.77
AMD Ryzen 7 1700

When I use one CPU it is ok but when I use more CPUs or use the GPU the PC crashes.

Anything I can do to prevent the crash?

NVTeam
Posts: 2261
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 4:12 pm
Contact:

Re: PC crash

Post by NVTeam » Mon Feb 12, 2018 9:44 am

Do you mean one core of the CPU?

What kind of crash do you observe? Does the whole PC (both application and OS) crash?
Do you receive any error messages when that happens?

Also, please try to run NeatBench for a test. You can download it in this page.

Thank you,
Vlad
Image Image Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos

eivindr
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2018 5:51 pm

Re: PC crash

Post by eivindr » Tue Feb 13, 2018 5:16 pm

Thanks,

I tried NeatBench and the whole PC crashed when I reach 15 cores

eivindr
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2018 5:51 pm

Re: PC crash

Post by eivindr » Tue Feb 13, 2018 5:28 pm

I tried using Neat Image again and the whole PC crashes with 6 cpu cores and no GPU used

NVTeam
Posts: 2261
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 4:12 pm
Contact:

Re: PC crash

Post by NVTeam » Tue Feb 13, 2018 11:37 pm

Is the cooling system working properly on that computer?
Do you monitor the temperatures of the CPU and GPU?
Perhaps something is overheating or there is not enough power from PSU.

Vlad
Image Image Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos

jpsdr
Posts: 196
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 7:33 am

Re: PC crash

Post by jpsdr » Wed Feb 14, 2018 11:33 am

Just to add more information. PSU power can be "tricky".
Most of the time, you just have the total power of the PSU (500W, 800W, etc...).
But, when you have an CPU with a lot of cores, you have to check what power your CPU uses, and get the full specific datasheet of your power supply (most of the time you have it on the manufacturer site), to check the specific power on the CPU (or 3.3V) part avaible.
I've had a bad surprise, when i made my PC, and noticed only afterward on the box of the PSU, that its CPU part power was "only" 100W, when my CPU required 130W. I've been obliged to by a 1000W PSU, just to be able to have 150W on the CPU part.
So even if you have a good/powerfull PSU, it's not impossible that you may not have enough for the CPU part.
I don't say it's this, but i just wanted to warn you because this can be tricky. :?

Post Reply