Using Neat Video to RE-APPLY noise/grain

suggest a way to improve Neat Video
Post Reply
barnstormvfx
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 22, 2015 8:44 pm

Using Neat Video to RE-APPLY noise/grain

Post by barnstormvfx » Fri May 22, 2015 9:06 pm

Love Neat Video and use it for both Nuke and After Effects.
When doing beauty and/or cleanup work its often necessary to de-noise an area, work on it, and then re-grain it to match the rest of the shot.

It seems that it should be possible to utilize the same grain pattern that is removed in the initial de-grain in order to re-grain the affected area to perfectly match the original grain. That would prevent the need to try and manually match grain on a shot-by-shot basis.

Would love to know if its possible to eventually add this. It would be a huge convenience to my workflow. I can sort-of do this with a difference matte approach but having it built into the plugin would be awesome.

NVTeam
Posts: 2302
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 4:12 pm
Contact:

Post by NVTeam » Fri May 22, 2015 9:11 pm

Thank you for the suggestion. I am not sure it would be easy or straightforward to implement but we will consider that for one of the future versions.

Thank you,
Vlad
Image Image Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos

WhoisRip
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2015 3:03 am

Post by WhoisRip » Mon Jul 20, 2015 3:18 am

I agree....this feature is HIGHLY sought after!

Re-Introduce some color noise (and the option to set the percentage) instead of having to add a Noise plugin from Premiere on top of Neat Video's Noise Reduction.

I'm still waiting on this feature myself...

gench
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2015 3:12 am

Post by gench » Mon Sep 21, 2015 12:54 am

I too HIGHLY support this idea. Applying film grain after denoising footage is a natural thing to do and currently it's an extra step in DaVinci Resolve. On top of that the plug-in I use for it (Filmconvert) just for grain eats up way too much ram and resources cause of other unnecessary functions.

vincentlanger
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 6:07 pm

Post by vincentlanger » Sun Sep 11, 2016 5:41 pm

Hi there,
is there any update of this topic?

A regrain tool would be awesome.

cheers,
Vincent

vincentlanger
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 6:07 pm

Post by vincentlanger » Sun Sep 18, 2016 2:24 pm

there is not so much going on here - but anyway neat video is a great tool and being able to regrain footage would be highly appreciated.

vincentlanger
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 6:07 pm

Post by vincentlanger » Sat May 13, 2017 11:15 am

any News on this one? Would be really cool.

Cheers,
Vincent

bish_klipart
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 18, 2017 8:20 am

Post by bish_klipart » Thu May 18, 2017 4:12 pm

NVTeam wrote:Thank you for the suggestion. I am not sure it would be easy or straightforward to implement but we will consider that for one of the future versions.

Thank you,
Vlad
For a long time I dream about such function.
Similar implemented in the F_ReGrain plugin from FurnaceCore in Nuke.
But he is very "heavy" for the render, and the noise is laid over the collected shot often.
And of course your plug-in is incomparably better than any analogues.
It will be very cool if you add a similar functionality.

Best regards,
Dima.

NVTeam
Posts: 2302
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 4:12 pm
Contact:

Post by NVTeam » Thu May 18, 2017 5:02 pm

Thank you for your feedback. We are adding your voices for that functionality in the wish list.

Kind regards,
Vlad
Image Image Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos

VHSobsessive
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 10:20 pm

Post by VHSobsessive » Sat May 20, 2017 1:49 am

WhoisRip wrote:Re-Introduce some color noise (and the option to set the percentage) ...
I would like to be able to add some luma noise back without adding the chroma noise as well.

vincentlanger
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 6:07 pm

Re: Using Neat Video to RE-APPLY noise/grain

Post by vincentlanger » Wed May 23, 2018 12:01 pm

Hiho,

Are there any news about the regrain feature?

cheers,
Vincent

NVTeam
Posts: 2302
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 4:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Using Neat Video to RE-APPLY noise/grain

Post by NVTeam » Wed May 23, 2018 12:38 pm

Unfortunately there are no news about that at this point.
Image Image Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos

mmmm
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2018 6:06 pm

Re: Using Neat Video to RE-APPLY noise/grain

Post by mmmm » Mon Jul 30, 2018 6:25 pm

Would just like to also request this feature. Essential for VFX work to degrain/noise before comping and then reapplying noise/grain afterwards.

Post Reply