Will Neat work on Apple Motion without Final Cut installed?

general questions about Neat Video
Post Reply
gizmo
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 13, 2013 6:53 pm

Will Neat work on Apple Motion without Final Cut installed?

Post by gizmo » Mon May 13, 2013 7:48 pm

Hello,

I have Apple Motion but not Final Cut on my Intel i7 Mac. I downloaded the demo version of neat and installed it but It does not appear as a filter in Apple Motion.

I want to try the Demo first before I buy the pro version and I need to confirm that Neat will work on a Mac with Motion but not Final Cut.

Thank you very much.

NVTeam
Posts: 2261
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 4:12 pm
Contact:

Post by NVTeam » Mon May 13, 2013 8:10 pm

Which exactly version (number) of Motion is it?

Have you restarted Motion after installing Neat Video?

Did you look in the panel Library > Filters ?
Neat Video > Reduce Noise should normally be there.

Thank you,
Vlad
Image Image Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos

gizmo
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 13, 2013 6:53 pm

Post by gizmo » Mon May 13, 2013 8:17 pm

Hi Vlad,

It is the current version of Motion, I just downloaded it from Apple today.

I did look in Panel Library > filters but Neat Video was not there.

I also reinstalled it and still nothing.

NVTeam
Posts: 2261
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 4:12 pm
Contact:

Post by NVTeam » Mon May 13, 2013 8:41 pm

Please check that the following folders and files are present on the disk after installation of Neat Video:
/Applications/Neat Video for Final Cut
/Library/Plug-Ins/FxPlug/NeatVideo.fxplug

Normally, those two are sufficient for Motion to see the plug-in.

Please also try to restart OSX. Sometimes that helps in situations like this.

Thank you,
Vlad
Image Image Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos

gizmo
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 13, 2013 6:53 pm

Post by gizmo » Mon May 13, 2013 9:17 pm

/Applications/Neat Video for Final Cut
is there



looking at:
Macintosh HD/Library
there is no folder for Plug-Ins

NVTeam
Posts: 2261
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 4:12 pm
Contact:

Post by NVTeam » Mon May 13, 2013 11:16 pm

That is strange, it should be there. Is there a FxPlug folder in your home folder's Library? - ~/Library/Plug-Ins/FxPlug/

Thank you,
Vlad
Image Image Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos

gizmo
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 13, 2013 6:53 pm

Post by gizmo » Mon May 13, 2013 11:35 pm

We could not find a Plug-Ins folder on the entire computer (other than Internet Plug-Ins")

What should we do?

NVTeam
Posts: 2261
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 4:12 pm
Contact:

Post by NVTeam » Tue May 14, 2013 12:21 pm

Lets check if Motion is being sandboxed by OSX. Please do the following steps to check that:
1. Start Motion.
2. Start Activity Monitor (/Applications/Utilities/Activity Monitor)
3. In Activity Monitor, go to menu View > Columns and select "Sandbox".
4. Then in the main window of Activity Monitor, check if the corresponding Sandbox column shows "Yes" or "No" against Motion.

Please also let me know if you have any other plug-ins installed and working in Motion.

Thank you,
Vlad
Image Image Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos

gizmo
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 13, 2013 6:53 pm

Post by gizmo » Tue May 14, 2013 2:16 pm

Hi Vlad,
I followed your instructions and Sandbox is "no" for motion.
I do not have any other plug-ins installed or working in Motion.

The only "yes" sandbox programs are:
CVMCompiler
mdworker
pboard
Quick Look Helper

NVTeam
Posts: 2261
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 4:12 pm
Contact:

Post by NVTeam » Tue May 14, 2013 5:09 pm

Very interesting. Then it is some other problem, not related to sandbox.

Could you try to install and run any other third-party plug-in for Motion/FCPX to verify that such plug-ins generally work with Motion on your computer? Perhaps other plug-ins do not work as well and then we will need to find what is wrong with the Motion.

Vlad
Image Image Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos

gizmo
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 13, 2013 6:53 pm

Post by gizmo » Tue May 14, 2013 6:53 pm

Hi Vlad,

I downloaded and installed free plug-ins from core melt and they worked fine.

For now I manually dropped the neat folder into plug-ins folder and it is working for the demo.

after i find settings that work for the demo I'll buy the pro version and hopefully it will install itself or I can manually drop NeatVideo.fxplug into the plug-ins folder

NVTeam
Posts: 2261
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 4:12 pm
Contact:

Post by NVTeam » Tue May 14, 2013 10:41 pm

So the only thing that changed is that the /Plug-Ins/ folder was created and then you could add the plug-in to it, is that correct?

I think if you re-install the Demo (or later Pro), it will see that folder and will be able to add the plug-in there.

Vlad
Image Image Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos

gizmo
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 13, 2013 6:53 pm

Post by gizmo » Tue May 14, 2013 10:55 pm

Hi Vlad,
That is correct. I'll buy the professional version in about 10 days. My early tests with the demo version are going well.

I'll post back here when I buy the pro version and let you know how the install goes.

Post Reply