FCPX//Motion bypassing Neat Video on export

resolve technical issues related to use of Neat Video
Post Reply
anim8r
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2014 3:07 pm

FCPX//Motion bypassing Neat Video on export

Post by anim8r » Tue Apr 29, 2014 9:00 pm

The video looks pretty clean, then when I export from either FCPX or Motion it looks as bad as the original. The source clips are from a Panasonic GH2 directly imported into FCPX. So AVCHD rewraped to QT files.

Running FCPX 10.1.1, Motion 5.1, and Neat Video plugin 3.5.

NVTeam
Posts: 2261
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 4:12 pm
Contact:

Post by NVTeam » Wed Apr 30, 2014 7:57 am

Is this reproducible with other types of clips?

When you import the clip to FCPX, do you let FCPX optimize media?

Thank you,
Vlad
Image Image Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos

anim8r
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2014 3:07 pm

Post by anim8r » Wed Apr 30, 2014 3:34 pm

No I didn't. Is that what needs to be done for it to work correctly?

NVTeam
Posts: 2261
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 4:12 pm
Contact:

Post by NVTeam » Wed Apr 30, 2014 3:41 pm

I am not sure if that will help FCPX to work correctly but I think it is worth trying doing that.

Vlad
Image Image Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos

anim8r
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2014 3:07 pm

Post by anim8r » Thu May 01, 2014 2:53 pm

I tried transcoding to optimized, but it still looks the same after rendering. here's some screenshots

In FCPX looks smooth
Image

Rendered ProRes video
Image

NVTeam
Posts: 2261
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 4:12 pm
Contact:

Post by NVTeam » Thu May 01, 2014 6:36 pm

If you then re-import that clip back to FCPX, does FCPX also show it with that banding? (I assume that is the problem you are referring to?)

Thank you,
Vlad
Image Image Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos

anim8r
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2014 3:07 pm

SOLVED

Post by anim8r » Fri Jun 20, 2014 4:38 am

I figured out it was Quicktime player. It looks fine in other players like VLC and importing it back into Motion/FCPX. I figured this out after i had a banding issue on a 3D render.

Post Reply