Size of output file is larger?!

questions about practical use of Neat Image
Izzy

Size of output file is larger?!

Post by Izzy »

When I first bought the Pro version, about 4-5 months ago, and I applied a reasonable amount of noise reduction, (usually 40-50%), the resulting output file was usually about one half the size of the original file.

This made a lot of sense, since NI had removed a lot of "detail" (which was really noise) that was taking up space.

In the latest version (and maybe the one before that) I am noticing that the output file, on the average, is TWICE as big, rather than one half. Now, I'm no expert, and would not characterize myself even as knowledgeable. However, I am doing the same things when I process as I did before.

Why is the file size bigger these days?

Thanks.
goldragon

Post by goldragon »

hehe I also have the same problems I dunno why.. but I thought it is only a problem in my side.. didn't know other people also have the same problem as mine :roll: . :shock:
NITeam

Post by NITeam »

What about output file format used? There are three of them, which one is used???

Vlad

P.S. This thread may be related to your questions: http://www.neatimage.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=210#210
goldragon

Post by goldragon »

Output jpeg type format but theoutput file size is 2 times than normal size dunno why??? :shock: :shock: :?:
NITeam

Post by NITeam »

What compression quality is used? :-)

Vlad
goldragon

Post by goldragon »

Compression quality??? where to find? I normally use the max one hehe
NITeam

Post by NITeam »

Why max, don't you know that max produces large images? :-)

The whole point of JPEG is to balance size (compression) vs quality. If you really need highest quality then I advise to use TIFF format, which is lossless.