Using Neat Video to RE-APPLY noise/grain

suggest a way to improve Neat Video
Post Reply
barnstormvfx
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 22, 2015 8:44 pm

Using Neat Video to RE-APPLY noise/grain

Post by barnstormvfx » Fri May 22, 2015 9:06 pm

Love Neat Video and use it for both Nuke and After Effects.
When doing beauty and/or cleanup work its often necessary to de-noise an area, work on it, and then re-grain it to match the rest of the shot.

It seems that it should be possible to utilize the same grain pattern that is removed in the initial de-grain in order to re-grain the affected area to perfectly match the original grain. That would prevent the need to try and manually match grain on a shot-by-shot basis.

Would love to know if its possible to eventually add this. It would be a huge convenience to my workflow. I can sort-of do this with a difference matte approach but having it built into the plugin would be awesome.

NVTeam
Posts: 2317
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 4:12 pm
Contact:

Post by NVTeam » Fri May 22, 2015 9:11 pm

Thank you for the suggestion. I am not sure it would be easy or straightforward to implement but we will consider that for one of the future versions.

Thank you,
Vlad

WhoisRip
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2015 3:03 am

Post by WhoisRip » Mon Jul 20, 2015 3:18 am

I agree....this feature is HIGHLY sought after!

Re-Introduce some color noise (and the option to set the percentage) instead of having to add a Noise plugin from Premiere on top of Neat Video's Noise Reduction.

I'm still waiting on this feature myself...

gench
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2015 3:12 am

Post by gench » Mon Sep 21, 2015 12:54 am

I too HIGHLY support this idea. Applying film grain after denoising footage is a natural thing to do and currently it's an extra step in DaVinci Resolve. On top of that the plug-in I use for it (Filmconvert) just for grain eats up way too much ram and resources cause of other unnecessary functions.

vincentlanger
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 6:07 pm

Post by vincentlanger » Sun Sep 11, 2016 5:41 pm

Hi there,
is there any update of this topic?

A regrain tool would be awesome.

cheers,
Vincent

vincentlanger
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 6:07 pm

Post by vincentlanger » Sun Sep 18, 2016 2:24 pm

there is not so much going on here - but anyway neat video is a great tool and being able to regrain footage would be highly appreciated.

vincentlanger
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 6:07 pm

Post by vincentlanger » Sat May 13, 2017 11:15 am

any News on this one? Would be really cool.

Cheers,
Vincent

bish_klipart
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 18, 2017 8:20 am

Post by bish_klipart » Thu May 18, 2017 4:12 pm

NVTeam wrote:Thank you for the suggestion. I am not sure it would be easy or straightforward to implement but we will consider that for one of the future versions.

Thank you,
Vlad
For a long time I dream about such function.
Similar implemented in the F_ReGrain plugin from FurnaceCore in Nuke.
But he is very "heavy" for the render, and the noise is laid over the collected shot often.
And of course your plug-in is incomparably better than any analogues.
It will be very cool if you add a similar functionality.

Best regards,
Dima.

NVTeam
Posts: 2317
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 4:12 pm
Contact:

Post by NVTeam » Thu May 18, 2017 5:02 pm

Thank you for your feedback. We are adding your voices for that functionality in the wish list.

Kind regards,
Vlad

VHSobsessive
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 10:20 pm

Post by VHSobsessive » Sat May 20, 2017 1:49 am

WhoisRip wrote:Re-Introduce some color noise (and the option to set the percentage) ...
I would like to be able to add some luma noise back without adding the chroma noise as well.

vincentlanger
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 6:07 pm

Re: Using Neat Video to RE-APPLY noise/grain

Post by vincentlanger » Wed May 23, 2018 12:01 pm

Hiho,

Are there any news about the regrain feature?

cheers,
Vincent

NVTeam
Posts: 2317
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 4:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Using Neat Video to RE-APPLY noise/grain

Post by NVTeam » Wed May 23, 2018 12:38 pm

Unfortunately there are no news about that at this point.

mmmm
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2018 6:06 pm

Re: Using Neat Video to RE-APPLY noise/grain

Post by mmmm » Mon Jul 30, 2018 6:25 pm

Would just like to also request this feature. Essential for VFX work to degrain/noise before comping and then reapplying noise/grain afterwards.

Post Reply