Motion 5 and NV 3&4 with Still Photo

resolve technical issues related to use of Neat Video
Post Reply
msg4reg
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 5:35 am

Motion 5 and NV 3&4 with Still Photo

Post by msg4reg » Sun Aug 23, 2015 4:24 pm

Creating a project in Motion 5 from a still photo causes garbage screen(s) with Neat Video v3 and v4. The first time I tried this it put up this dialog also: "The host application has not provided the frame data to Neat Video plug-in".
But after loading and reloading the filter, both versions just show garbage now and no more dialog. Is this because of Motion 5? Had no problems with earlier Motion.

NVTeam
Posts: 2261
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 4:12 pm
Contact:

Post by NVTeam » Sun Aug 23, 2015 8:55 pm

Could you be a bug, either in Motion or in NV itself. Please update NV to the latest version (4.0.6) and check if the problem is still reproducible.

Thank you,
Vlad
Image Image Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos

NVTeam
Posts: 2261
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 4:12 pm
Contact:

Post by NVTeam » Tue Aug 25, 2015 11:58 am

Please also check which exactly version of Motion you use. If necessary please update to the most recent version (5.1.2).

Please also send a small test case (a project with the source media known to reproduce the problem on your computer) to support [at] neatvideo.com for direct testing.

Thank you,
Vlad
Image Image Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos

msg4reg
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 5:35 am

Post by msg4reg » Thu Aug 27, 2015 10:29 am

Using Motion 5.2.1, NV 4.0.6, iMac 12,1, 16GB ram, OS 10.10.5 – and still have similar results, only this time I get the aforementioned dialog and can't get past it:
"The host application has not provided the frame data to Neat Video plug-in..."
Turning off/on the filter panel setting doesn't make a difference. Other than possible Motion issues, I had been using Mavericks before; now Yosemite.

Vlad, I'm not sure what you mean by a "test case" project from Motion. Not a heavy Motion user. Can Motion output projects, and if so, can you guide me through that? TIA.

NVTeam
Posts: 2261
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 4:12 pm
Contact:

Post by NVTeam » Thu Aug 27, 2015 10:43 am

I am no user of Motion 5 either but I guess it should be possible to either directly save the current project or export to XML (as that is done in FCPX) and send transfer that XML (and source media files) to us by e-mail. Please check in File menu of Motion, there should be commands to save or export.

If you cannot find a way there, please make some screenshots illustrating the steps you take up to the moment when the problems show up. Please then e-mail those screenshots to support [at] neatvideo.com

Thank you,
Vlad
Image Image Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos

msg4reg
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 5:35 am

Motion 5 and NV 3&4 with Still Photo

Post by msg4reg » Mon Sep 07, 2015 5:01 pm

Motion 5.2.2 was released this week, and this bug has now been fixed. FYI to anyone who experienced this besides me. Thanks to NV team who looked into this.

Post Reply