Skin/Flesh texture improvment request

questions about practical use of Neat Image
foochey

Skin/Flesh texture improvment request

Post by foochey »

Every NR program I've used (NI, NN, an NW) all have the same problem with skin tones...especially in the facial features. They all turn to plastic. Yeah, I could create a mask in PS and omit these areas from the NR, but frankly I would like to remove some noise from these areas as well in a simple fashion if possible. I purchased NI Pro, even though it was slower than NN and NW but I thought it did a tad better job. In any event I have a question/request. I think that NI could take a HUGE advantage over the other competitors if some improvements could be made in this area. Not sure the best way to approach it as I'm no programmer. But, I think there is a huge opportunity here and whoever can create a better way to remove noise in portrait type of images will have a monopoly for a while.

Until then, is there a way to tweak the settings in NI to prevent the plastic face syndrome without losing the NR in the rest of the photo??

Thanks,

Fooch
:lol:
NITeam

Post by NITeam »

Fooch,

Thank you for the suggestion. We will certainly consider what can be done to help skin tones.

Regarding solutions that may be used right away, I would think of the following:

1) make sure the noise profile you use is accurate; re-build if necessary;

2) use the profile equalizer (available in Advanced mode) to identify the tonal ranges that correspond to the skin tones and turn down the noise levels in those ranges; this will make NI think that the noise is weaker in those ranges and it will reduce noise less agressively in areas of skin tones;

3) use the Photoshop selection tools to quickly select (based on the skin tonal range) the skin areas and then apply Neat Image filter to the whole image with normal NI settings; the masks will effectively reduce the noise reduction amount in the skin areas.