Upgrade from GTS 250 to GTX 560 - How much improvement ?

general questions about Neat Video
Post Reply
kurenai
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 6:16 pm

Upgrade from GTS 250 to GTX 560 - How much improvement ?

Post by kurenai » Sun Oct 09, 2011 5:51 pm

Hello,
I just upgraded to v3.

The benchmark from the plugin gave me this result :
Frame: 1920x1080 progressive, 32 bits per channel, Radius: 1 frame
Running the test data set on up to 4 CPU cores and on up to 1 GPU

CPU only (1 core): 0.831 frames/sec
CPU only (2 cores): 1.52 frames/sec
CPU only (3 cores): 1.75 frames/sec
CPU only (4 cores): 1.85 frames/sec
GPU only (GeForce GTS 250): 1.05 frames/sec
CPU (1 core) and GPU (GeForce GTS 250): 1.03 frames/sec
CPU (2 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTS 250): 1.29 frames/sec
CPU (3 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTS 250): 1.42 frames/sec
CPU (4 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTS 250): 1.5 frames/sec
-------------
Frame: 1920x1080 progressive, 32 bits per channel, Radius: 3 frames
Running the test data set on up to 4 CPU cores and on up to 1 GPU

CPU only (1 core): 0.632 frames/sec
CPU only (2 cores): 1.12 frames/sec
CPU only (3 cores): 1.36 frames/sec
CPU only (4 cores): 1.36 frames/sec
GPU only (GeForce GTS 250): 0.56 frames/sec
CPU (1 core) and GPU (GeForce GTS 250): 0.524 frames/sec
CPU (2 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTS 250): 0.648 frames/sec
CPU (3 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTS 250): 1.28 frames/sec
CPU (4 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTS 250): 1.4 frames/sec
-------
The best combination from 3 frames radius told me to use both CPU and GPU, but the 1 frame radius showed to use only CPU.

My CPU is core2quad 2.4, 8G RAM and GTS 250 1G.

I'm wondering... if I upgrade my GPU to GTX 560, how much speed improvement should I expect?
The thing is, that's the only card that I can get without having to build a new machine (I can't put a GPU that's longer than 23 cm).
The number of cuda cores for GTX 560 is 336, while GTS 250 is 128.
I'm not going to spend about $200 for something that'd only give me speed improvement of say.. only to 2 frames/sec.

If somebody could give me a general idea about the significance of the number of cuda cores in relation to v3 GPU processing, it'd be great.
(i.e. can I expect almost twice the speed with GTX 560, so in general it'd give me about 3-4 frames per second?)

Thanks.

NVTeam
Posts: 2261
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 4:12 pm
Contact:

Post by NVTeam » Sun Oct 09, 2011 9:06 pm

Comparing the specs of GTS 250 and GTX 560, I would say the latter would be about 2-3 times faster. I do not have direct measurements from that card though.

Vlad
Image Image Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos

kurenai
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 6:16 pm

Post by kurenai » Fri Nov 18, 2011 9:44 am

Thanks Vlad.
I just bought the GTX 560, and here's the result, in case someone interested :

Frame: 1920x1080 progressive, 32 bits per channel, Radius: 1 frame
Running the test data set on up to 4 CPU cores and on up to 1 GPU

CPU only (1 core): 0.831 frames/sec
CPU only (2 cores): 1.59 frames/sec
CPU only (3 cores): 1.82 frames/sec
CPU only (4 cores): 1.85 frames/sec
GPU only (GeForce GTX 560): 4.33 frames/sec
CPU (1 core) and GPU (GeForce GTX 560): 3.85 frames/sec
CPU (2 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 560): 4.26 frames/sec
CPU (3 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 560): 4.67 frames/sec
CPU (4 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 560): 4.52 frames/sec

Best combination: CPU (3 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 560)

----------------------------------------------
Frame: 1920x1080 progressive, 32 bits per channel, Radius: 3 frames
Running the test data set on up to 4 CPU cores and on up to 1 GPU

CPU only (1 core): 0.638 frames/sec
CPU only (2 cores): 1.2 frames/sec
CPU only (3 cores): 1.36 frames/sec
CPU only (4 cores): 1.36 frames/sec
GPU only (GeForce GTX 560): 2.9 frames/sec
CPU (1 core) and GPU (GeForce GTX 560): 2.35 frames/sec
CPU (2 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 560): 2.92 frames/sec
CPU (3 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 560): 3.24 frames/sec
CPU (4 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 560): 3.25 frames/sec

Best combination: CPU (4 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 560)

So, yeah, just like Vlad said, even better :)
Almost 4 times faster.

NVTeam
Posts: 2261
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 4:12 pm
Contact:

Post by NVTeam » Fri Nov 18, 2011 10:22 am

I am glad it works better then expected. Thank you for sharing!

Vlad
Image Image Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos

Post Reply